What are the 7 steps of the lysogenic cycle?

What are the 7 steps of the lysogenic cycle?

Lytic versus lysogenic cycle: A temperate bacteriophage has both lytic and lysogenic cycles. In the lytic cycle, the phage replicates and lyses the host cell. In the lysogenic cycle, phage DNA is incorporated into the host genome, where it is passed on to subsequent generations.

Is lytic or lysogenic more dangerous?

Why are lysogenic viruses more dangerous than lytic viruses? Lysogenic viruses integrate their own DNA with the host DNA. … It becomes a provirus in the lysogenic cycle, and settles for many years in the body. If it becomes lydic a second time, then shingles occurs.

What is a lytic phage?

…one of two life cycles, lytic (virulent) or lysogenic (temperate). Lytic phages take over the machinery of the cell to make phage components. They then destroy, or lyse, the cell, releasing new phage particles.

What happens in a lysogenic infection?

Lysogenic Cycle Definition. The lysogenic cycle is a method by which a virus can replicate its DNA using a host cell. … A bacteriophage, or bacteria virus, injects its DNA into the bacteria. The DNA is then replicated when the bacteria undergo cell division.